Upcoming Events

During eight days each November hundreds of authors and thousands of readers converge on Downtown Miami for the nation's premier literary festival. And when that's over, we keep it going, month in, month out.

Tuesday, July 7 @ 7:00 pm
Virtual (online),

An Evening with Kent Russell & Karen Russell” discussing In the Land of Good Living: A Journey to the Heart of Florida

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present “An Evening with Kent Russell & Karen Russell” Discussing In the Land of Good Living: A Journey to the Heart of Florida. About the Book: In the summer of 2016, Kent Russell–broke, at loose ends, hungry for adventure–set off to walk across Florida. Mythic, superficial, soaked in contradictions, maligned by cultural elites, segregated from the South, and literally vanishing into the sea, Florida (or, as he calls it: “America...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, July 8 @ 5:00 pm
Virtual (online),

15 minutos de lectura con María José Ferrada

Desde la Feria del Libro de Miami creemos en el poder de la lectura y la escritura para estar conectados. Como parte de nuestra programación virtual ofrecemos 15 minutos de lectura con la Feria del Libro de Miami, un espacio semanal donde distintos autores compartirán su obra, leída de viva voz por Facebook Live. Acompáñanos el miércoles 8 de julio a las 5 p.m. con María José Ferrada. En cada sesión, un escritor invitado leerá sus obras en directo. Las lecturas virtuales de 15 minutos...

arrow to read more
Saturday, July 11 @ 2:00 pm
Facebook Live,

Taptap KRIK? KRAK! Books & Music for Families

Hosted by Mahalia Solages. With BélO, Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite, Nancy St. Leger, Margaret Papillon The wheels on Taptap KRIK? KRAK! go round and round. Colorful and packed with stories, this bus is stopping at your house! Taptap KRIK? KRAK! online is a new webcast with a focus on Haitian and Caribbean stories, music, dance, and many other surprises. All aboard? Next stop, your living room! Stream from Facebook or YouTube with new shows dropping on Saturdays in June and July. Schedule...

arrow to read more
Saturday, July 11 @ 7:00 pm
Virtual (online),

A Virtual Evening with Chantel Acevedo and Alex Segura

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present… A *Virtual* Book Launch Party with CHANTEL ACEVEDO to celebrate the publication of  Muse Squad: The Cassandra Curse (Balzer + Bray, $16.99, ages 8-12)  Moderated by: ALEX SEGURA FREE & LIVE via Crowdcast About the Book:  The first in an action-packed debut middle grade fantasy duology about a Cuban American girl who discovers that she’s one of the nine Muses of Greek mythology. Perfect for fans of The Serpent’s Secret, the Aru Shah...

arrow to read more
Monday, July 13 @ 6:00 pm
Virtual (online),

A Virtual Evening with Laurie Halse Anderson & Alex Sanchez

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present… “An Evening with Laurie Halse Anderson & Alex Sanchez” discussing Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed DC Comics, $16.99 New York Times bestselling author Laurie Halse Anderson (Speak, Shout) and artist Leila del Duca reimagine Wonder Woman’s origins in this timely story about the refugee experience, teenage activism, and finding the love and strength to create change. Princess Diana believes that her 16th birthday will be one of new...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, July 15 @ 6:30 pm
Virtual (online),

First Draft: A Literary Social with Fabienne Josaphat

A guided writing prompt with a twist. Because writing is thirsty work. Have a drink. Write a story. Have another drink. Write a better story. Miami Book Fair presents First Draft, a series of informal writing events that turn happy hours into great stories. You’re inspired. But you’re also thirsty. Swing by a First Draft event for a drink (the first one’s on the house) and a guided writing prompt. Share your writing. You never know what you might knock out as you knock one...

arrow to read more
Thursday, July 16 @ 5:00 pm
Virtual (online),

¡Tómate una copa (en casa) y escribe mejor!, con Ena Columbié.

Una tertulia literaria guiada. Embriaga a tu editor interno y ¡exprésate con libertad desde la cuarentena! ¡El COVID 19 no impide que nos contactemos a través de la escritura! Así es como funciona: te damos un tema, escribes durante diez minutos. Si quieres, compartes el texto con el resto de los participantes. Hacemos una pausa para leer los textos e intercambiar opiniones mientras te tomas una copa en casa. Después repetimos la misma dinámica. Tema: “La verdad de la poesía”. Ena...

arrow to read more
Thursday, July 16 @ 7:00 pm
Virtual (online),

An Evening with Legna Rodriguez-Igelesias In Conversation with Megan McDowell

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present An Evening with Legna Rodriguez-Igelesias In Conversation with Megan McDowell discussing My Favorite Girlfriend was a French Bulldog. Join us for a conversation between Legna Rodríguez-Iglesias and translator Megan McDowell. Legna Rodríguez-Iglesias’ new book, My Favorite Girlfriend was a French Bulldog, is a novel told in fifteen stories, linked by the same protagonist, our narrator, who—in her own voice and channeling the voices of...

arrow to read more
Wednesday, July 22 @ 5:00 pm
Virtual (online),

15 minutos de lectura con Pablo Simonetti

Desde la Feria del Libro de Miami creemos en el poder de la lectura y la escritura para estar conectados. Como parte de nuestra programación virtual ofrecemos 15 minutos de lectura con la Feria del Libro de Miami, un espacio semanal donde distintos autores compartirán su obra, leída de viva voz por Facebook Live. Acompáñanos el miércoles 22 de julio a las 5 p.m. con Pablo Simonetti. En cada sesión, un escritor invitado leerá sus obras en directo. Continuaremos con las lecturas virtuales...

arrow to read more
Saturday, July 25 @ 2:00 pm
Facebook Live,

Taptap KRIK? KRAK! Books & Music for Families

Hosted by Mecca “Grimo” Marcelin. With Edwidge Danticat, Leyla McCalla, Yanui, Juniace Senecharles Etienne The wheels on Taptap KRIK? KRAK! go round and round. Colorful and packed with stories, this bus is stopping at your house! Taptap KRIK? KRAK! online is a new webcast with a focus on Haitian and Caribbean stories, music, dance, and many other surprises. All aboard? Next stop, your living room! Stream from Facebook or YouTube with new shows dropping on Saturdays in June and July....

arrow to read more
Monday, July 27 - Friday, July 31
Livestreamed via Crowdcast,

Manuscript Consultations with Dana Murphy

Various times, as appointed (Mon. – Fri., July 27 – 31,). All appointment times in EST. Consultations are limited to 30 people. Once you have registered online, please email your 1-page synopsis and 10-page manuscript to Marci Cancio-Bello at mcanciob@mdc.edu by midnight on Sunday, June 29, 2020. Genres Accepted: Adult Fiction, Young Adult Fiction, and Adult Narrative Non-Fiction (No prescriptive, art, cookbooks etc.) Manuscripts must be a max of 10 double-spaced pages plus query...

arrow to read more
Monday, July 27 @ 9:30 am
Livestreamed via Crowdcast,

Poetry: The Conscious/Subconscious with Richard Blanco

5-Day Virtual Workshop Monday – Friday, July 27 – 31 | 9:30 – 11 a.m. EST A poem is a conscious expression born out of the subconscious mind. Through interactive lectures and exercises, we will explore those techniques that we consciously employ in poetry, namely: the using specific, concrete imagery; the dynamics of line breaks; how to harness to power of figurative language; and the linguistics underlying musicality. Likewise, we will explore the equally important subconscious...

arrow to read more
Monday, July 27 @ 11:00 am
Livestreamed via Crowdcast,

Fiction: Subverting Timelines with Bryan Washington

5-Day Virtual Workshop Monday – Friday, July 27 – 31 | 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. EST We’ll work through intersecting structures, parallel timelines, elliptical narratives, and stories that forego chronology altogether as we parse the limits of structure, and the ways our forms dictate the content we turn to. Bryan Washington has written for the New Yorker, the New York Times, the New York Times Magazine, the BBC, Vulture, and Bon Appétit. He is the author of Lot, the recipient of...

arrow to read more
Monday, July 27 @ 12:30 pm
Livestreamed via Crowdcast,

The Art and Craft of Memoir with Boris Fishman

5-Day Virtual Workshop Monday – Friday, July 27 – 31 | 12:30 – 2 p.m. EST During our time together, we will read excerpts of exemplary memoirs (and peek at a couple of craft manuals); take them apart to figure out how they became so exemplary (and to remind ourselves that their authors were once staring at a blank page, too); do some craft exercises to practice those concepts; and then deploy them in short pieces of memoiristic writing that we will workshop as a group. No prior...

arrow to read more
Monday, July 27 @ 2:00 pm
Livestreamed via Crowdcast,

Teenage Rebels: How To Write Young Adult Fiction with Lilliam Rivera

5-Day Virtual Workshop Monday – Friday, July 27 – 31 | 2 – 3:30 p.m. EST The Outsiders. Harry Potter. The Hate You Give. Walk in to any bookstore and you will find an exciting array of young adult fiction that covers every genre—from contemporary stories tackling social justice themes to science fiction bringing other worlds to life. If you’ve ever wanted to write a novel through the perspective of a young person, this is the workshop for you. This workshop will break down the mystery...

arrow to read more

Creating Cultural Miami = Priceless

Support the Miami Book Fair and be part of Miami’s commitment to expanding and strengthening Miami’s literary culture.